How to unlock The Pit in Diablo 4

Diablo 4 Season 4 brings with it an overhaul to the loot system, a Helltide mechanic, and some new areas to explore. One location that was added during this season is a dungeon known as The Artists’ Pit (or just The Pit). This place is home to some of the hardest challenges in Diablo 4, and here’s how you can access it.

The Pit is a randomized dungeon that was added as part of the Season 4 update. Since it’s random, whenever anyone enters the dungeon, the layout and monsters will change, making each of your runs truly unique. It also means that it will be more difficult, as there will be no specific guides for your run. This dungeon is the hardest piece of endgame content the game has to offer, and it’s definitely something you want to have a good understanding of the game before you dive into it. All enemies in The Pit will start at level 100 and increase significantly the further you are there.

Image obtained via Blizzard

There are three levels of the dungeon, and each one is significantly more difficult than the last. The goal is to defeat all the enemies (including a boss) in the dungeon before time runs out, which is extremely similar to what Diablo 3 did with Greater Rifts. You will have 15 minutes on the timer and will have to fight waves of monsters until you progress enough to summon the boss. You will then have to kill the boss before the time runs out. The bosses will drop Stygian Stones, which will be used to do Masterwork Crafting, another new aspect of the game..

Unlocking The Pit in Diablo 4

Diablo 4 Season 4 promo image
Image obtained via Blizzard

You’ll want to level up a bit because you will need to be on World Level 4 and complete Tier 45 Nightmare Dungeon. After doing so, the obelisk of The Pit will unlock inside Scosglen. However, you will need three Runeshards to start each run in The Pit. Runeshards are available through those Nightmare Dungeons, Helltides, Legion Events and Whispers.

Once inside The Pit, you can unlock new Levels by completing a run in a certain time frame.

  • Level 1: Complete The Pit with 4 minutes or less remaining on the timer.
  • Tier 2: Complete The Pit with 4-6 minutes left on the timer.
  • Level 3: Complete The Pit with 6 or more minutes left on the timer.

The higher the level, the more difficult the enemies will be. However, the more rewards you will get by completing it. At first, The Pits will be like a Tier 45 Nightmare Dungeon, but it will quickly become much more difficult than that the more levels and tiers you unlock, so make sure you’re prepared before taking on this endgame content.

For more information on Diablo 4, check out How to become Hellmarked in Diablo 4 Season 4 and How to fix no icons on Map bug in Diablo 4 Season 4.

Professional Game Guides are supported by our audience. When you shop through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button